Copyright Maja Mataric, USC

Syllabus & Class Schedule

(Tentative Schedule)


Class Schedule

Note: This schedule is subject to change. Textbooks are available at the campus bookstore.

Legend:
MM: M. Mataric's The Robotics Primer.
FM: F. Martin's Robotic Explorations: An Introduction to Engineering Through Design.

Week

Date

Topic

Assigned Readings

Homework and Slides

1

Mon Aug 27

Welcome/Introduction

---

Lecture 0

 

Wed Aug 29

Defining robotics

MM1, MM3

Lecture 1

2

Mon Sep 3

Labor day weekend (No Class)

 

 

 

Wed Sep 5

A Brief History of Robotics

MM2

Lecture 2 (Tortoise schematics, Shakey link)

3

Mon Sep 10

Effectors and Actuators

MM4, MM5

Lecture 3,

 

Wed Sep 12

Actuators

MM6

HW1 handed out, Lecture 4

4

Mon Sep 17

The role of sensors

MM7

Lecture 5, Lecture 6, HW1 due

 

Wed Sep 19

Simple sensors

MM8

Lecture 7

5

Mon Sep 24

Complex sensors

MM9

Lecture 8, Vision

 

Wed Sep 26

Feedback control

MM10

HW2 handed out, Lecture 9

6

Mon Oct 1

Control architectures

MM11

Lecture 10

 

Wed Oct 3

Reactive Control

MM14

 Lecture 11

7

Mon Oct 8

Reactive control

MM14

HW2 due, Lecture 10

 

Wed Oct 10

Midterm review

 

Lecture 11

8

Mon Oct 15

In-class exam I

 

all material so far

 

Wed Oct 17

Subsumption architecture

MM14

(Continue with lecture 11 on Reactive control)

9

Mon Oct 22

Deliberative and Hybrid control

MM13,MM15

Lecture 12

 

Wed Oct 24

Behavior-based control

MM16

HW3 handed out, Lecture 14

10

Mon Oct 29

Guest Lecture

 

 

 

Wed Oct 31

Lab visit

 

 

11

Mon Nov 5

Behavior-based control II

MM16

Lecture 15

 

Wed Nov 7

Emergent Behavior

MM18

HW3 due, Lecture 18

13

Mon Nov 12

Representation + Prof. Itti’s Lab visit

MM12

HW4 handed out, , Lecture 21

 

Wed Nov 14

Adaptive Behavior + Prof. Schaal’s Lab visit

 

Lecture 24

14

Mon Nov 19

Robot Learning

MM21

HW4 due, HW5 handed out, Lecture 23

 

Wed Nov 21

Group robotics

MM20

 Lecture 24

15

Mon Nov 26

 Group robotics II

MM20

HW5 due

 

Wed Nov 28

Final exam review

 

 

16

Mon Dec 3

In-class exam II

 

 

 

Wed Dec 6

Final in-lab Demo

 

4.30pm - 6pm

-

 

California Science Center Exhibition

 

 

 

The University of Southern California does not screen or control the content on this website and thus does not guarantee the accuracy, integrity, or quality of such content. All content on this website is provided by and is the sole responsibility of the person from which such content originated, and such content does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the University administration or the Board of Trustees

The University of Southern California does not screen or control the content on this website and thus does not guarantee the accuracy, integrity, or quality of such content. All content on this website is provided by and is the sole responsibility of the person from which such content originated, and such content does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the University administration or the Board of Trustees